Notification Settings

OVERVIEW

Notification Settings allow you to control how the message will be sent to your end users.
By default, notifications are set up to pop up as a small window that appears at the bottom right corner of employees’ screens when an alert-style message is published. 

 

TYPES OF NOTIFICATIONS

You can select how the notification will arrive to your end users by choosing either Direct on Screen, Silent, Urgent, or Emergency. The screen will change depending on which option was selected.

 

Popup Notification

Displays a small prompt at the bottom right of a Windows desktop to advise the user that a new message has arrived. Users have the option to Read Now or Read Later:


Direct on Screen
Displays the message directly on the user's screen when the start date is reached.


Silent
Delivers the message directly to the Message List with no notification to users that it has arrived.


Urgent 
Displays the message directly on the user's screen when the start date is reached. The message will appear over the top of screensavers and applications in selected display mode. Messages will not display if the user has set snooze active.

Emergency
Displays the message maximized, directly on the user's screen when the start date is reached. The message will appear over the top of screensavers and applications in selected display mode even if the user has set snooze active.

 

EDITING THE POPUP NOTIFICATION

The pop-up notification can be previewed and edited by clicking Pop Up, at the top of the screen, above your content:


​​From the Notification screen, you can change the text within the pop-up notification (including the text on the buttons) by clicking on the text within the notification. 

When in the Summary screen, all text elements can be edited. In Designer Mode it is also possible to add additional modules and change the position of the existing modules:


Settings controlling how the Notification will behave on the recipients' screen are accessed from the right-hand menu in the Summary Mode.
 

NOTIFICATION SETTINGS

Duration (Pop-up Notification Only)

Set the length of time (in seconds) that the pop-up notification remains on the screen if neither Read Now nor Read Later is selected. The default is 15 seconds.
 

Number of Occurrences (Pop-up Notification Only)

Set the number of times the pop-up notification will re-appear if the employee selects Read Later or ignores the notification. The default is Recur until read (i.e. the notification will continue to appear until the recipient clicks on Read Now).


Recurrence Interval (Popup Notification Only)

Set the length of time between each pop-up notification recurrence.


Notification Sound

Play a default sound when the pop-up notification appears on the screen. Care should be taken with this feature as it may cause excessive disruption in open-plan offices.


Keep Notifying When Read

Generally used for shared machines, this feature keeps displaying the popup notifications regardless of the scenario or newsletter being read or not.
 

Remove when read

When selected this will result in the message being removed from the recipient's Message History once they have read it,


 

NOTIFICATION SUPPRESSION

SnapComms desktop apps have a built-in capability to recognize when there is a desktop application running on full screen or in presentation mode to suppress notifications except for emergency and urgent types of alerts. A maximized window is not recognized as presentation mode and will not trigger this built-in capability.


The app offers support for suppressing notifications while sharing your screen during a Zoom or Microsoft Teams call on both Windows and Mac.
By default, sharing your screen will suppress notifications for both Zoom and Microsoft Teams. On the Windows platform, sharing a single window in Zoom will also suppress notifications. 


Note:
There are advanced options available for Windows via the Registry to customize the application specific suppression behavior. This can be managed with Group Policy to set behavior for a large number of users. Please contact Tech Support if you have requirements to override the default behavior for a specific application.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.