Snooze is an opt-in function that allows end-users to stop alert pop-up’s or notifications for a set period of time and is typically used when end-users are in meetings or giving presentations and do not want to be interrupted.
Snooze is an additional license feature. Talk to your SnapComms Sales agent to have this Asset added to your license. If you do not see Snooze Rules listed under the Users & Groups menu, you do not have the Snooze feature on your license.
Note: Snooze is available on SnapComms app/client for Windows & on Mac from version 18.11 app.
This Knowledge Base article covers the following subjects:
By default, Snooze is not active. Once a Snooze Rule has been created and sent to a target audience, it can then be switched on or off by your target audience via the Snooze icon on the right of their SnapComms client's Message History screen. Snooze Rules are configured to allow a user to Snooze for a limited time only. You set the limited time period when creating the Snooze Rule.
In Content Manager, navigate to Users & Groups >> Snooze Rules.
Click on the Create button.
Give the Snooze Rule a name and a description, if required.
Set the Maximum Snooze Duration (in minutes) that users can snooze their client within a 24 hour period. Click on the Create button
The snooze duration will reset at midnight (based on local time of the recipient)
Set when your asset will be visible to your audience.
Select who will receive your asset.
Change the asset name or review the asset status.
Once you have selected your Snooze duration, target audience and date & time range.
The Snooze Rules will automatically be updated on the end-users app.
Once published, you should now see an icon on the right of your Message History as per the diagram below.
Now the users (Clients) can toggle the snooze function on or off via the new icon in their Message History. When they turn it on, they are advised how long the snooze will stay on should they not manually turn it off.
If they turn off the snooze function, all unread messages and any new material sent while they were in Snooze Mode will immediately be displayed.
If they choose to turn it back on, when they hover over the snooze icon, they will see how much time (out of the allocated time given over the 24 hour period) they have left before the snooze will be switched off automatically.
Please be aware there are certain Alerts that will not be stopped even if you snooze your client. See Alert Modes below.
When the Urgent & Emergency Alert feature is available, the alerting system within SnapComms comprises 3 modes:
Standard Alerts the current/standard behavior of SnapComms alerts is preserved – alerts will not display over the top of screensavers and applications in full-screen mode, alerts will not display when ‘snooze’ is activated by the end user, alert recurrence cycles will be preserved but alerts with ‘pending alert notifications’ appear on screen immediately after end-user exits snooze mode.
Urgent Alerts will display over the top of screensavers and applications in full-screen mode, alerts will not display when ‘snooze’ is activated by the end user, alert recurrence cycles will be preserved but alerts with ‘pending alert notifications’ appear on screen immediately after end-user exits snooze mode
Emergency Alerts will display over the top of screensavers and applications in full-screen mode, alerts will display when ‘snooze’ is activated by the end user, alert recurrence cycles will be preserved but all alert notifications appear directly on the screen as configured.